The license is valid throughout the state for 5 years from the date of issuance. A castle doctrine, also known as a castle law or a defense of habitation law, is a legal doctrine that designates a person's abode or any legally occupied place (for example, a vehicle or home) as a place in which that person has protections and immunities permitting one, in certain circumstances, to use force (up to and including deadly force) to defend oneself against an intruder, free from . Under California self-defense laws, you generally have the right to "stand your ground" and defend yourself and others without retreating.There is no state law statute that authorizes this right that there is no duty to retreat. Review Looks at States Rates of Gun Deaths; Most of Arkansas Neighbors Saw Rise after Laws Passage.Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, February 22, 2021. 11250 Waples Mill Rd. The stand your ground defense is also known as the Castle Doctrine. The 277 vote in the Senate for the bill on January 19, 2021, largely split along party lines, with allDemocratsvoting against it and all Republicans supporting it, save Jim Hendren, who later left the Republican Party. Hutchinson tried to connect the legislation to another bill hes advocating that would impose additional penalties for committing crimes against someone because of their race, sex, sexual orientation or other characteristics. Hendren later joined a January 31 rally at theArkansas State Capitolin opposition to the bill. (e) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to limit civil liability except in the limited case of noise pollution. Citizens in Arkansas may use force to protect themselves from any threat, or to protect someone else, so long as the force used is reasonable and proportional to the threat they are facing, but includes deadly force if required. The information is not intended as legal advice or a restatement of law anddoes not include: restrictions that may be placed on non-resident permits, individuals under the age of 21, qualifying permit classes, and/or any other factor which may limit reciprocity and/or recognition. A local unit of government may not enact or enforce any ordinance or regulation affecting firearms or ammunition, except as allowed by state law. A. We have made every effort to report the information correctly, however reciprocity and recognition agreements are subject to, change. Stand Your Ground Laws are often expansions of the Castle Laws. Arkansas law wont take effect until 90 days after the Legislature adjourns this years session. Monk, Ginny, and John Moritz. . The only restrictions concerning the lawful use of force and self-defense within the state of Arkansas are those covering said force used during the commission or imminent commission of a crime on the part of the would-be defender. According to Stand Your Ground laws and other self-defense laws, if you harm, threaten, or even kill another person and do so in a reasonable manner, you may be justified in doing so. Copyright 2023, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Inc. (b) A pregnant woman is justified in using physical force or deadly physical force against another person to protect her unborn child if, under the circumstances as the pregnant woman reasonably believes them to be, she would be justified under 5-2-606 or 5-2-607 in using physical force or deadly physical force to protect herself against the unlawful physical force or unlawful deadly physical force she reasonably believes to be threatening her unborn child. What Is The Second Amendment And How Is It Defined. Ark. In general, the law of self-defense is an affirmative defense that allows a defendant to argue that the use of force was justified to protect herself or others harm. Possession of firearms in fields, forests, along streams, or in any location known to be game cover shall be considered prima facie evidence that the possessor is hunting. Nearly 2,700 voters in Arkansas without ID used the affidavit option in last years election and had their vote counted, according to numbers compiled by the American Civil Liberties Union of Arkansas, which opposed the legislation. Despitethe fact that Zimmermandisobeyed the request of authorities that Zimmerman not follow Martin, as well asinitiated the conflict with Martin, police in Sanford, Florida, initially refused to charge Zimmerman with any crime, citing the states stand-your-ground law. A machine gun is defined as a weapon of any description by whatever name known, loaded or unloaded from which more than five shots or bullets may be rapidly, or automatically, or semi-automatically discharged from a magazine, by a single function of the firing device. (B) However, the initial aggressors use of physical force upon another person is justifiable if: (i) The initial aggressor in good faith withdraws from the encounter and effectively communicates to the other person his or her purpose to withdraw from the encounter; and, (ii) The other person continues or threatens to continue the use of unlawful physical force; or. If a parent or guardian knows that the minor is in illegal possession of a firearm at the premises of a public or private school, or at a public or private school's athletic stadium or other facility or building in which school-sponsored events are conducted, or at a public park, playground, or civic center, and the parent or guardian fails to either prevent the illegal possession or report it to an appropriate school or law enforcement official, the failure is a misdemeanor offense. Online athttps://www.arkansasonline.com/news/2021/feb/22/review-looks-at-states-rates-of-gun-deaths/ (accessed June 5, 2021). Your email address will not be published. In response to the bill, the Arkansas chapter of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America, a national organization founded in 2012 following the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting that left twenty-six people dead (including twenty children), said in a press release that the bill would embolden vigilantes and extremists to shoot first and ask questions later, weaken gun laws, and make Arkansas less safe, particularly for people of color.A letter co-signed by seventy-nine religious leaders stated that the bill encourages people to resolve issues with violence.Thefirsthearingon the billcame exactlyone week after armeddomesticterrorists(many of them self-professed gun enthusiasts, such as the Arkansas-basedextremistRichard Bigo Barnett) attacked the U.S.Capitol in Washington DCon January 6, 2021,as part of an attempted coup dtat. The Arkansas Prosecuting Attorneys Association changed from opposing the bill in 2019 to a position of neutrality after it was updated to exempt people who are in illegal possession of a weapon or participating in gang activity. Asa Hutchinson never formally took a stance on the measure in 2019, but said at the time that he was "hesitant" to change the state's existing self-defense laws. Stand your ground laws are associated with increases in lethal violence in some states. Asa Hutchinson on Wednesday signed into law a measure easing the states restrictions on the use of deadly force in self-defense, but urged conservatives who pushed for the legislation to pass a hate crimes proposal theyve so far resisted. Stand Your Ground bill Following a more than three-hour long debate, members of the House Judiciary Committee voted Tuesday (Feb. 2) against SB 24 - a proposal to end the duty to retreat when using physical or deadly force. In the case of a deadly use of force, the defendant would need to show that deadly force was necessary to prevent serious . The bill only affects wet counties, because liquor stores could only make deliveries in the same county in which they are located. * This rests on court rulings. A spokeswoman said Dec. 23 Hutchinson hadnt yet read or taken a position on the new version. Almost always, police and prosecutors will err on the side of caution. Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium. The Arkansas House of Representatives has approved legislation that would loosen the state's rules on the use of deadly force in self-defense. Your email address will not be published. 1013 and S. Res. Persons with the endorsement cannot carry within a posted firearm-sensitive area that has been approved by the Department of Arkansas State Police and located at: the Arkansas State Hospital, the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, or a collegiate athletic event. Donations made to the CALS Foundation are tax-deductible for United States federal income tax purposes. Research consistently shows that stand your ground laws increase homicides and, when combined with racial bias, result in the killing of Black Americans. Proponents of the bill could not provide evidence that anyone in the state had ever been prosecuted for acting in self-defense, and the castle doctrine, which permits physical self-defense when on ones property(in ones house or car), already covered a wide range of possibilities for the use of force in self-defense. 18, 92d Gen. 100 Rock Street Victims have little time to react when confronted with a criminal attack, they should not be required to try and run away before defending themselves, Jason Ouimet, executive director of the National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action, said in a statement. Possession or ownership of any firearm is unlawful for any person who has been: It is unlawful to sell, give, rent, or otherwise furnish a firearm to a person under 18 without the consent of a parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the general supervision of the minors welfare. Republicanlegislators in Arkansas attempted to pass a stand-your-ground law in 2019, but the bill (HB 1059) met opposition from the Arkansas Sheriffs Associationand the Arkansas Prosecutors Association. A number of new laws took effect Wednesday in Arkansas. Arkansas State Legislature. People can use deadly force as a first option rather than the last. Tom Marlowe practically grew up with a gun in his hand, and has held all kinds of jobs in the gun industry: range safety, sales, instruction and consulting, Tom has the experience to help civilian shooters figure out what will work best for them. Senators Sorted by Congressional District and Seniority, 94th General Assembly Senate Lists (PDFs), Education Resources & History Questions for Students, Senator Jerry Bookout (1973-1996 / 2003-2006), Senator Charlie Cole Chaffin (1984-1994), Senator Morril H. Harriman, Jr. (1985-2000), Senator Kim Hendren (1979-1982) (2003-2012), Senator W. D. "Bill" Moore, Jr. (1967 - 1994), Senator James C. "Jim" Scott (1983-2002), Senator J. No person under 18 years of age may possess a handgun, unless the minor falls within the exemptions listed at Ark. This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged. The bill, SB175, removed the "duty to retreat" requirement, "in determining whether or not a person who used force in self-defense, defense of another, or defense of that person's residence reasonably believed that the force was necessary to prevent injury, loss, or risk to life or safety."  The bill went into effect April 6 th, 2021. Arkansas citizens may employ defensive force anywhere they have a legal, lawful right to be. Despitethe fact that Zimmermandisobeyed the request of authorities that Zimmerman not follow Martin, as well asinitiated the conflict with Martin, police in Sanford, Florida, initially refused to charge Zimmerman with any crime, citing the states stand-your-ground law. Ark. After receiving an amendment in the House, the Today, the House Judiciary Committee passed self-defense expansion legislation, Senate Bill 573. (Ark. The laws that give you that right are called Stand your Ground laws. So, Stand Your Ground law has the potential to make a self-defender's actions easier to defend in this single regard as it removes the obligation to retreat from a threat. Hutchinson also signed legislation that makes the states voter ID law even stricter by no longer allowing people without identification to cast a ballot if they sign an affidavit. The bill now heads to to the majority-Republican House. The measure, Senate Bill 24, passed through both chambers of the Arkansas legislature after first failing to make it through the committee process earlier in the session. Attorneys explain Florida's Stand Your Ground statute under Section 776.013(3) in self defense cases in Tampa, FL. Stand-Your-Ground Laws: For a Man's House is His Castle. Little Rock, AR. 2018) (https://opinions.arcourts.gov/ark/courtofappeals/en/346005/1/document.do) ruled that [u]nder the clear language of section 5-73-120(a), the possessor of a handgun must have an unlawful intent to employ it as a weapon against a person in order to make that possession a criminal act. For a bill to become law, both chambers of the legislature must approve the exact same version of it. March 28, 2012, at 5:25 p.m. Are 'Stand Your Ground' Laws a Good Idea? However, that opposing Republican, state Sen. John Cooper, R-Jonesboro, lost his primary during the 2020 election cycle to a state representative who had the backing of the National Rifle Association. City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arkansas: Stand your ground law in Arkansas (house, gated, living) User Name: Remember Me: Password Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! It would make permanent the temporary allowances initiated by executive order last year, at the start of the pandemic. However, in every neighboring state,African Americanswere found to become more likely to die by gunfire in the wake of such laws. When he signed the bill into law, he did state his hope that legislators would then take up the proposed hate crimes bill that had been lingering in the, Monk, Ginny, and John Moritz. The most recent was signed into law by Ohios governor earlier this year. Sources: Arkansas Code Annotated 5-73-101 through 5-73-402. Judiciary Committee was held on January 13, 2021. Code. They cover most of the same issues as the castle laws (the places where this law applies, the requirements fro use of deadly force, if there is a duty to retreat, the amount of force that maybe used in . The difference between "stand your ground" and "castle doctrine" laws lies in when and where people have a "duty to retreat".